Wed. Jul 24th, 2024
PML-N, PPP oppose allocation of reserved seats to SIC

ISLAMABAD: El Partido Popular de Pakistán (PPP), la Liga Musulmana de Pakistán-Nawaz (PML-N) y el Movimiento Muttahida Qaumi-Pakistán (MQM-P) se opusieron el martes a otorgar escaños de reserva al Consejo Suní Ittehad (SIC).

According to details, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) heard the pleas regarding the inclusion of independent members in the Sunni Ittehad Council and the allocation of reserved seats.

A five-member bench of the ECP headed by CEC Sikandar Sultan Raja took up the plea. Barrister Gohar Ali, Farogh Naseem, Azam Nazir Tarar, and Ata Tarar, appeared before the electoral body.

Political parties opposed granting reserved seats to the Sunni Ittehad Council, citing the party did not win a single seat and got the members after PTI-backed independent candidates joined the party.

Farooq H. Naek said it should be clarified first whether the Sunni Ittehad Council has the right to special seats or not, to which Azam Nazir Tarar responded by suggesting giving the seats to other parties including PML-N.

Read more: PML-N senator demands CEC Sikandar Sultan Raja’s resignation

PTI’s counsel, Barrister Ali Zafar stated that it cannot be allowed for anyone to challenge the request from outside. First, decide who the pleader is and why he has come to challenge.

Azam Nazir Tarar argued that the Sunni Ittehad Council did not provide a priority list, so what would happen to those who submitted the request first?

The Election Commission consolidated all requests against the Sunni Ittehad Council and admitted the hearing until a later date.

By admin